Category Archives: winners

Thoughts from the Society for News Design president about the 29th Best of Newspaper Design

By Gayle Grin

As always, the competition was exciting, stimulating and tiring as the hard-working judges pored over more than 14,000 entries in three long days of debate and discussion. And before the judging could begin, the entries had to be sorted and categorized by a dedicated group of helpers.

It was an intriguing process. Initially I felt there was so much of the same good stuff but at the same time, I recognized that newspapers have reached a level of maturity in design and we have taught each other so much. I could see quality in design was being identified. With a lot of work to be reviewed, the judges quickly began acting as a unit recognizing the elusive excellence. The judges, with a good international mix, were a tough bunch!

Continue reading


Best of Show at SND/S: Politiken

It should come as no surprise to anyone who has followed the amazing transformation of Politiken to find it has been awarded “Best of Show” at SND Scandinavia’s Best of News Design 2007. Congratulations on another well-deserved accomplishment to our friends in Denmark.

The Copenhagen newspaper was also judged a World’s Best newspaper from SND for the 28th Edition of The Best of Newspaper Design, with those judges calling it “visually visceral,” and declaring “there’s nothing timid about this newspaper.”

Kudos to everyone who was awarded in the competition: You can see all the winners (in a handy PDF booklet that includes winning images) at the SND/S site.

Knight News Challenge winners

They are naming the winners of the first Knight News Challenge today, so take a look.

That list includes The Blog’s Mercury News colleague Chris O’Brien, who will be helping his alma mater, Duke University, with some cool newsroom rethinking about preparing for a converged future.

Another winner, Adrian Holovaty of, will be a speaker for a session at SND Boston called “Making Data Webby,” where he shares philosophy and strategies for making data browsable online. He’ll touch on several of his past projects, including and Faces of the Fallen, plus we bet he will talk about this new Knight project. Yet another reason to be in Boston this fall.

Kudos to Adrian, Chris and everyone else who will be trying to see new news solutions.

The winners are …

  1. Chris Csikszentmihalyi, MIT Media Lab/Comparative Media Studies
  2. Henry Jenkins, MIT Media Lab/Comparative Media Studies
  3. Adrian Holovaty, Journalist/Web developer
  4. Richard Anderson, VillageSoup
  5. Ian Rowe, MTV: Music Television
  6. Rich Gordon, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University
  7. Christopher Callahan, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University
  8. Geoff Dougherty, CEO, PublicMedia, Inc.
  9. David Ardia, Citizen Media Law Project, Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard Law School
  10. Gail Robinson, Gotham Gazette
  11. Nora Paul, Institute for New Media Studies, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Minnesota
  12. Ethan Zuckerman, Global Voices, Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard Law School
  13. Lisa Williams, Placeblogger
  14. Todd Wolfson, Media Mobilizing Project of Philadelphia
  15. Amy Gahran, co-founder of I, Reporter
  16. Adam Glenn, co-Founder of I, Reporter
  17. Paul Grabowicz, University of California-Berkeley
  18. Chris O’Brien, The Chronicle, Duke University’s student newspaper
  19. Dianne Lynch, H. Park School of Communications, Ithaca College (with six partners)
  20. Angela Powers, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, Kansas State (with Dianne Lynch)
  21. Ann M. Brill, Ph.D., William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications, University of Kansas (with Dianne Lynch)
  22. Ardyth Broadrick Sohn, Hank Greenspun School of Journalism and Media Studies, University of Las Vegas (with Dianne Lynch)
  23. Jane Briggs-Bunting, School of Journalism, Michigan State (with Dianne Lynch)
  24. Kimberly Sultze, department of journalism and mass communication, Saint Michael’s College (with Dianne Lynch)
  25. Pam McAllister-Johnson, School of Journalism & Broadcasting, Western Kentucky University (with Dianne Lynch)
  26. Benjamin Melancon, Co-founder, Agaric Design Collective
  27. Dan Schultz, Carnegie Mellon University undergraduate student
  28. Dori Maynard, president and CEO of the Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
  29. G. Patton Hughes, CEO, neomaxcom, LLC
  30. J.D. Lasica,
  31. Jay Rosen, Department of Journalism, New York University
  32. Paul Lamb, Principal, Man on a Mission Consulting and Co-Founder, Lambs on Love
  33. Leslie Rule, Project Supervisor, KQED’s Digital Storytelling Initiative, San Francisco
  34. Steven Clift, Board Chair,

ONLINE AWARDS: Early 2007 SND.ies honor digital "voyages"

Thanks to Mindy McAdams for the link at Teaching Online Journalism, where she explains what she thinks about a few of the SNDies winners (she likes them).


Multimedia journalism took readers to Cuba, to an overcrowded jail, to disappearing Florida wetlands, to New York City’s underground Fulton Street Transit Station and beyond in projects honored early this year with SND.ies awards from the Society for News Design. Winners in this session included, the St. Petersburg Times, The New York Times, and the Philadelphia Inquirer.

Judges expressed an appreciation for entries that a user “can go as shallow or deep as you like” with; and really placed value on an online interface that “extends the capabilities of the newspaper.” They also awarded database-driven entries that would continue to grow: “This tool/project will be useful for years to come as the new data come in. Longer shelf life is a good innovation.”

Full details and links to the early 2007 competition can be seen at

ACES’ headline winners

The American Copy Editors Society has announced the 2006 Nationwide Headline Contest winners and awarded the Robinson Prize — for excellence in copy editing — to Tim Lynch of the Los Angeles Times . For more information, head to!

See the World’s Best now

SND has just released a CD with samples of the newspapers that were honored in February as the best-designed in the world.

An international panel of judges selected Aripaev in Tallinn, Estonia; El Economista in Madrid, Spain; Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung in Frankfurt, Germany; and Politiken in Copenhagen, Denmark for the award.

The judges said the newspapers they selected “set a standard of excellence, not just by the masterful execution of their pages, but by their ability to speak with a voice”

The CD features a 67-page PDF showing front pages, section fronts and inside pages that demonstrate what the judges described as “elegance, visual virtuosity, raw energy, grit and innovation.”

To learn more or to order, visit The SND Store.